IOCL Barauni Refinery Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – 272 Trade & Technician Apprentices, No Exam, Apply by 6 December
Indian Oil Corporation Limited has issued Advertisement No. BR/HR/APPR/2026-27/II (dated 6 November 2026) to engage 272 apprentices at its Barauni Refinery in Bihar under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973. The seats are for B.Sc graduates (Physics, Chemistry and Maths) and for Mechanical or Instrumentation diploma holders. There is no written test: selection is on the marks of your qualification. You apply on the NAPS or NATS portal and must also fill IOCL's Microsoft Form, both between 6 November and 6 December 2026.
About Indian Oil Corporation Limited (Refineries Division), Barauni Refinery
Seats are spread over four codes. Code 101 – Trade Apprentice, Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant) has 190 seats for 12 months; Code 103 – Trade Apprentice (Boiler) has 38 seats for 24 months; Code 105 – Technician Apprentice (Mechanical) has 21 seats and Code 107 – Technician Apprentice (Instrumentation) has 23 seats, both for 12 months. By category the 272 seats are UR 126, OBC (NCL) 73, SC 43, EWS 27 and ST 3. Five seats each in codes 105 and 107 are identified for PwBD candidates on a horizontal basis (they sit inside the 21 and 23, not on top of them), and PwBD candidates can apply only for these two codes. The numbers are tentative and may change. You can apply for only one code; a B.Sc holder must choose either 101 or 103. This is training, not a job: IOCL has no obligation to employ you after the apprenticeship.
Vacancy Details
| Post | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| 101 – Trade Apprentice, Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Chemical – 12 months | 190 |
| 103 – Trade Apprentice (Boiler), Mechanical – 24 months | 38 |
| 105 – Technician Apprentice, Mechanical – 12 months | 21 |
| 107 – Technician Apprentice, Instrumentation – 12 months | 23 |
| Total (UR 126, EWS 27, SC 43, ST 3, OBC 73; PwBD 10 horizontal within codes 105 & 107) | 272 |
Eligibility
Codes 101 and 103: a 3-year B.Sc with Maths, Physics and Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry. Code 105: a 3-year diploma in Mechanical Engineering. Code 107: a 3-year diploma in Instrumentation, Instrumentation & Electronics, Instrumentation & Control, or Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering. The course must be regular and full-time with at least 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST/PwBD on seats reserved for them), and you must have passed by 30 November 2026; candidates whose result is awaited cannot apply. Lateral-entry diploma holders are eligible. Part-time, correspondence or distance courses do not count. You are not eligible if you hold or will complete a higher qualification such as BE/B.Tech, MBA, CA, LLB or MCA before joining, if you have one year or more of job experience after the qualification, or if five years have passed since you acquired it. Those who already did an apprenticeship in a different trade may apply after a one-year gap, but first-time applicants get preference.
You must be 18 to 24 years old on 30 November 2026 (General/EWS). On reserved seats, SC/ST candidates get 5 years' relaxation (up to 29) and OBC (NCL) candidates 3 years (up to 27). PwBD candidates get up to 10 years' relaxation, plus 5 more for SC/ST and 3 more for OBC (NCL) on their reserved seats. Only the Class 10 certificate or mark sheet is accepted as proof of age.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Advertisement date | 6 November 2026 |
| Online application opens (NAPS/NATS + Microsoft Form) | 6 November 2026 |
| Last date to apply on NAPS/NATS and submit Microsoft Form | 6 December 2026 |
| Eligibility reckoning date (age & qualification) | 30 November 2026 |
| List of candidates for document verification (tentative) | 11 December 2026 |
| Document verification (tentative) | 14 to 18 December 2026 |
Application Fee
| Application Fee | Not mentioned in the official advertisement |
Salary / Stipend
| Pay | Stipend as prescribed under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, Apprentices Rules 1992 and IOCL guidelines (amount not stated in the advertisement) |
Apprentices get a monthly stipend at the rate prescribed under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, the Apprentices Rules 1992 and IOCL's guidelines. The advertisement does not print a rupee amount. No HRA or company accommodation is given. You receive safety shoes and a helmet (to be returned after training), accident insurance cover, 32 days of general leave over the training and 12 days of casual leave a year (pro rata).
Selection Process
There is no written test. IOCL ranks candidates who applied on NAPS/NATS by the percentage of aggregate marks in the qualification for the code applied for, with preference to first-time apprentices. On a tie the older candidate ranks higher, then the one with more marks in Class 10. Shortlisted candidates are called for document verification (list tentatively on 11 December 2026, verification 14 to 18 December 2026) and must pass the pre-engagement medical examination. SC/ST/PwBD candidates travelling 30 km or more for verification get a second-class rail fare refund. Bring the originals and a self-attested copy of your Class 10 certificate, mark sheets, CGPA-to-percentage conversion certificate (if any), a principal's certificate on result date, regular full-time study and conduct (if the mark sheet has no result date), caste/EWS/disability certificates, the NAPS/NATS registration print, the eligibility affidavit (Annexure-A) and a photo ID.
How to Apply
Applying has two steps, and both are compulsory. Step I: for codes 101 and 103 register on the NAPS portal (apprenticeshipindia.gov.in); for codes 105 and 107 register on the NATS portal (nats.education.gov.in). Keep your profile 100% correct, then apply to the Barauni Refinery opening using establishment ID E11191000001 (NAPS) or EBRBEC000003 (NATS). Step II: on iocl.com go to What's New > Engagement of Apprentices at Barauni Refinery 2026-27(II) and submit the Apprenticeship Additional Data Form: Barauni Refinery 2026 (Microsoft Form) once, with the same email ID, mobile number and enrolment number as on the portal. The advertisement does not mention an application fee. The last date is 6 December 2026. For queries call 06243-275258 or 275240, or email brrecttcell@indianoil.in.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many seats are there in the IOCL Barauni Refinery apprentice 2026 notice?
272: Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant) 190, Boiler 38, Technician Mechanical 21 and Technician Instrumentation 23.
What is the last date to apply?
6 December 2026, for both the NAPS/NATS application and the Microsoft Form.
Is there a written exam?
No. Selection is on a merit list of qualification marks, followed by document verification and a medical test.
What is the age limit?
18 to 24 years as on 30 November 2026, with relaxation for SC/ST, OBC (NCL) and PwBD.
Can a B.Sc candidate apply for both code 101 and code 103?
No. A B.Sc holder may apply for only one of them; applying for more than one code leads to rejection.
How much is the stipend?
As prescribed under the Apprentices Act and Rules and IOCL guidelines; the advertisement does not state an amount.